Pursuant to the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, 705 ILCS 405/5-915, sections 1.5 and 1.6, the Department shall consider this “Request for Expungement of Law Enforcement Records” only from the individual whose law enforcement records appear within this request. In addition, the Department will provide their written response to the address contained in this “Request for Expungement of Juvenile Law Enforcement Records”. The individual named in such request is legislatively mandated to provide a copy of the form to the arresting agency, prosecutor charged with the prosecution of the minor, or the State’s Attorney of the county that prosecuted the minor.
The following requirements must be met in order to utilize this form for the purpose of expungement Juvenile Law Enforcement records only.
- The subject must be 18 years of age.
- The Access and Review Process may be used to obtain information on the subject’s criminal history record. For more information on this process, please review http://www.isp.state.il.us/crimhistory/viewingchrircds.cfm.
- The juvenile offense must have occurred after January 1, 1985.
- The minor was arrested for an eligible offense and no petition of delinquency was filed with the clerk of the circuit court.
- All juvenile court proceedings must be completed.
- Since the date of the minor’s most recent arrest, at least 6 months have elapsed without an additional arrest, filing of a petition for delinquency whether related or not to a previous arrest, or filing of charges not initiated by arrest.
- The subject is responsible for providing a copy of this form to the Illinois State Police, the arresting agency, the prosecutor charged with the prosecution of the minor, or the State’s Attorney of the county that prosecuted the minor.
Eligible Offenses are defined as (as taken from 705 ILCS 405/5-915):
(1.8) For the purposes of subsections (1.5) and (1.6) of this Section, "eligible offense" means records relating to an arrest or incident occurring before the person's 18th birthday that if committed by an adult is not an offense classified as a Class 2 felony or higher offense, an offense under Article 11 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or an offense under Section 12-13, 12-14, 12-14.1, 12-15, or 12-16 of the Criminal Code of 1961.
Please mail the completed and signed form to:
Illinois State Police
Bureau of Identification
260 North Chicago Street
Joliet, Illinois 60432-4075